Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic
123>
  •  Topic options
Poster Thread
  •  Unregistered
      Unregistered
A Fan's Rant
guest_Unregistered
If you guys don't mind I'm gonna go off on a rant here, It's New Years eve 2009 and I'm snowed in so I'm celebrating 2009 all alone and I'm bored:

I'm not a copyright lawyer, I don't understand a lot about intellectual property rights but I do believe that all artists and content creators should be paid for their work but please please explain to me how this following scenario makes any sense at all to anyone and how it benefits or hurts the the artist or TV broadcaster or their sponsors in any way.

My account which featured mostly short TV show clips of Hikki and some user created content ( which includes Hikki) gets completely disabled because I had a 2 minute clip from 2004 of Utaban show.
How and in what way am I stealing or profiting from the distribution of this small clip on the internet?

I'm not selling it, you CAN'T PURCHASE the episode ( go ahead and call the station and see, you can't)
So it's not as if I'm showing something illegally that can be bought legally like for example her concert or music videos.
The video is also pretty much lost in the archives somewhere in a TV vault room at NHK or whatever station and will never be seen again probably.

It's basically free publicity and advertising ( some of clips include small ad's on the screen) for the TV station, its sponsors and the artist.

Not only that, I lose all my information, subscriptions, favorites and friends that I will never get back.
Like I committed a crime and had all my stuff confiscated.

It is so utterly ridiculous what these greedy, uninformed and unenlightened corporations and companies will do to protect something that doesn't require to be protected.